Humor

How I’m Going To Weaponize the Secrets You Just Told Me

But only because I care.

Tara Jean O'Brien
2 min readApr 5, 2022

--

Photo by LinkedIn Sales Solutions on Unsplash

When you told me that you were the one that steals the K-cups from the lounge, or that you shredded Barb’s cost report so you could get the VP promotion, or when you had a one-night stand with your best friend’s wife, I didn’t tell anyone. Remember? I’m a team player! But after the last two years, and all this Xanax, I need to start living my truth. And that truth is that I have nothing better to do than stir up shit.

I am not doing this for revenge! In fact, I love it when you call me your, “work wife” because it gives me something I don’t have at home: control.

Don’t forget that I was the one that told you not to order a third drink at happy hour last night. Just because I was on my third vodka soda, it didn’t necessarily mean that you were a pussy if you didn’t have one too.

I did not need to know that you put your car payment or your subscription for pictures of women’s feet on the company credit card, but then code that as “client recruitment.” I would have gone on to proposition my Uber driver with, or without, knowing that information.

But you told me. Freely. Willingly. Drunkenly. How was I to know that my teenager rigged my voice recorder to start recording…

--

--

Tara Jean O'Brien

Actor, Writer, Comedian, Podcaster, Enough Already. My first book, TIPS FOR YOUR LAST YEAR ON EARTH, avail on Amazon, Barnes & Noble, or your local bookstore!